IndyCar Barber: VeeKay pips Grosjean by 0.0356s to lead 2nd prepare

The 23-one year-extinct Dutchman rocketed to the tip of the leaderboard with a transient lap of 1m06.5463s on the 2.3-mile, 17-turn pure terrain avenue route.

“The car feels excellent,” VeeKay acknowledged. “It felt reasonably apt yesterday.

“Would per chance no longer in actuality receive a lap in on the crimson tires, but we made some adjustments overnight for what we belief used to be the magnificent direction and it used to be the magnificent direction. So as that is great.

“I am livid for qualifying. Or no longer it is most ceaselessly a truly apt model whereas you happen to’re rapidly in prepare two.”

Romain Grosjean continued his robust weekend, with the No. 77 Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet ending apt off VeeKay at 0.0356s in the reduction of. Team Penske’s Scott Mclaughlin ended up third at 0.0636s off the tip model.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s duo of Graham Rahal and Christian Lundgaard wrapped up fourth and fifth, respectively.

Pato O’Ward used to be sixth in the No. 5 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet, forward of Team Penske’s Will Vitality in seventh.

Reigning and two-time IndyCar Assortment champion Alex Palou ended the session along with his No. 10 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda in eighth. Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden, who led the hole session on Friday and remains in the highlight over his St. Petersburg disqualification, used to be ninth.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Armstrong, the 2023 IndyCar Rookie of the Year, completed 10th. 

The session started with a crimson flag popping out lower than three minutes in after Pietro Fittipaldi went off in Turn 2, struggling an steering failure.

“We were apt doing laps and warming up the auto,” Fittipaldi acknowledged. “Weren’t in actuality pushing after which my steering rack apt got right here free. Luckily, it did no longer happen in the high-breeze corner because it would’ve been reasonably provoking.

“I had no steering, most ceaselessly. Disappointed because we want laps, clearly, to preserve getting rhythm with these tracks I manufacture no longer know. Clearly, would no longer reduction the race.”

Christian Lundgaard, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

Christian Lundgaard, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

Photograph by: Josh Heaps / Motorsport Photos

Lundgaard went quickest quickly after the resumption of prepare, producing a flying lap of 1m06.6973s. Nonetheless VeeKay dethroned the Dane along with his rapidly lap with 30 minutes to transfer.

The crimson flag got right here reduction out with 20 minutes final after Arrow McLaren’s Theo Pourchaire, making his 2nd profession IndyCar delivery this weekend, spun off route in Turn 14 after sliding over the crest of the hill. He used to be in a situation to continue on after receiving assist.

At some stage in the crimson flag, the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Honda of Felix Rosenqvist used to be seen getting pushed reduction to the paddock an engine difficulty, in arrive ending his session.

“We had a loss of energy after which they acknowledged now we procure to park it [for] one thing with the engine,” Rosenqvist acknowledged. “So, wretched.

“I believed in actual fact the auto felt reasonably apt when compared with yesterday, so I am happier now going into qualifying than if it would’ve been yesterday.

“Execrable luck, but we are going to receive her mounted right here. I procure we would manufacture an engine commerce and detect we turn out in quali.”

Qualifying is determined for later at this time at 3: 30pm ET.

Cla   Nº   Driver   Automobile / Engine   Time   Hole   Laps 
21 Rinus VeeKay Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.5463   18
77 Romain Grosjean Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.5819 0.0356 23
3 Scott McLaughlin Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.6099 0.0636 24
15 Graham Rahal Dallara/Honda 1’06.6588 0.1125 21
45 C.Lundgaard Dallara/Honda 1’06.6973 0.1510 19
5 Patricio O’Ward Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.7528 0.2065 21
12 Will Vitality Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.7736 0.2273 23
10 Alex Palou Dallara/Honda 1’06.7776 0.2313 26
2 Josef Newgarden Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.8082 0.2619 17
10  11 Marcus Armstrong Dallara/Honda 1’06.8590 0.3127 24
11  7 Alexander Rossi Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.8634 0.3171 16
12  9 Scott Dixon Dallara/Honda 1’06.9763 0.4300 21
13  78 Agustín Canapino Dallara/Chevrolet 1’06.9977 0.4514 25
14  26 Colton Herta Dallara/Honda 1’07.0557 0.5094 24
15  20 C.Rasmussen Dallara/Chevrolet 1’07.0712 0.5249 24
16  14 Santino Ferrucci Dallara/Chevrolet 1’07.0893 0.5430 18
17  28 Marcus Ericsson Dallara/Honda 1’07.0927 0.5464 26
18  27 Kyle Kirkwood Dallara/Honda 1’07.1810 0.6347 22
19  66 Tom Blomqvist Dallara/Honda 1’07.2517 0.7054 21
20  8 Linus Lundqvist Dallara/Honda 1’07.2799 0.7336 31
21  18 Jack Harvey Dallara/Honda 1’07.5641 1.0178 25
22  4 Kyffin Simpson Dallara/Honda 1’07.5755 1.0292 26
23  6 Théo Pourchaire Dallara/Chevrolet 1’07.6949 1.1486 25
24  51 Luca Ghiotto Dallara/Honda 1’07.7358 1.1895 27
25  60 Felix Rosenqvist Dallara/Honda 1’07.8813 1.3350 7
26  41 Sting Ray Robb Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.3179 1.7716 22
27  30 P.Fittipaldi Dallara/Honda 1’18.4327 11.8864 1

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button