Lawrence collects CWC younger player accolade


Essex dominated awards at the Cricket Writers’ Club lunch in Kensington with Jamie Porter also picking up the Championship award

Dan Lawrence has been honoured by the Cricket Writers' Club  •  Getty Images

Dan Lawrence has been honoured by the Cricket Writers’ Club  •  Getty Pictures

County champions Essex beget provided two of the winners of the 2017 Cricket Writers’ Club awards with batsman Dan Lawrence named the CWC Young Cricketer of the Year and tempo bowler Jamie Porter taking the club’s Specsavers Championship Participant of the Year trophy a day after they had been both chosen for the England Lions squad that will tour Australia.

Lawrence, a staunch leg-facet player, topped a pollof the CWC’s 300-plus people after scoring 761 runs at an moderate of virtually 45, including three a entire bunch – a valuable contribution to Essex’s Division One triumph.

First equipped in 1950, and regarded as one of many oldest such honours in cricket, the award, which by custom is received appropriate once in a profession, is particular to England-qualified gamers under the age of 23 on April 1. Outdated winners of the Cricket Writers’ Club Young Cricketer of the Year award beget gathered better than 2,500 Test caps between them.

But such an accolade would not always guarantee England success. Despite the indisputable fact that Joe Root and Ben Stokes are contemporary winners, Alex Lees’ profession at Yorkshire has hit the backwaters since his honour in 2014.

Porter operates at a tempo barely above 80mph, which questions his capacity to growth to corpulent England honours, even supposing such assumptions beget been challenged by his successful of a converse, alongside Lawrence, in the England Lions squad in Australia which is ready to be on hand as doubtless replacements to the senior squad in the Ashes series.

He had an very unbiased right season, taking an excellent 75 wickets in the Championship at an improbable moderate of under 17 apiece as newly-promoted Essex took the First Division title in an unbeaten season.

Within the Expert Cricketers Association version of the awards later this week, he is shortlisted for both the younger player and Participant of the Year categories – at 24, he is too feeble for the CWC younger player class – and has the likelihood to repeat Ben Duckett’s double award a year previously.

The CWC, strangely, has but to introduce an award for the world sport or, indeed, for domestic restricted-overs cricket but its recognition goes beyond merely county gamers.

England World Cup-winner Tammy Beaumont succeeded Charlotte Edwards, the inaugural winner, in receiving the CWC’s Females’s Cricket Award. David Graveney, a delicate England chairman of selectors and chief govt of the Expert Cricketers Association, took the Peter Smith Award for “products and companies to the presentation of cricket to the general public”.

Beaumont’s 410 runs at 45.55, including one zero one fifty, made her the main speed scorer at this year’s Females’s World Cup, which England received in a dramatic last in opposition to India at Lord’s.

The awards, made in association with William Hill, also make stronger cricket literature. The CWC E book of the Year went to Over and Out, a biography of Albert Trott by Steve Neal.

Trott represented both Australia and England and, famously, cleared the Lord’s pavilion with what’s serene said to be the ultimate hit ever considered on the ground.

Your entire awards had been equipped at the club’s annual lunch at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Resort in London on Tuesday.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button